Oregon joins a handful of other states with a law on the books banning smoking in an enclosed vehicle with children in the car.
The smoker faces a fine of $250 for a first offense and subsequent offenders face a $500 penalty.
Although, police will not be able to pull over a vehicle because someone is smoking in a car with children present. They will first have to cite another violation (i.e. speeding, running a stop sign or changing a lane without proper notice.)
Arkansas, California, Louisiana, Puerto Rico and Utah already have Smokefree Car Laws.
Read more about these provisions here.